Interior of the Year 2024

The Awards

Entries are now open for Home Interior of the Year 2024 – a celebration of New Zealand’s best residential interior design and architecture.

The awards seek to recognise outstanding design in five distinct areas of the home: Kitchen, Bathroom, Living, Lighting, and Bedroom, inviting entrants to submit recently completed work that fits into one or more of these categories. 

In addition, two further categories, Colour, and Emerging Designer, will consider masterful use of colour in an interior space, and the work of a young or early-career designer respectively. 

Entry Form

Entries are now open, and close at 5pm on Friday 2 August 2024. 

For each project, please include:

  • A maximum of 200 words describing the project
  • A maximum of 12 high-resolution photos 
  • Plans, where relevant
Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 12 files.
Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 5 files.

Terms and Conditions

  1. Instructions on how to enter form part of the terms and conditions of entry. Entry into the Home Interior of the Year promotion is deemed acceptance of these terms and conditions.
  2. The award is open to anyone with a project that has been completed recently in New Zealand.
  3. Entries to the award open on Monday, 27 May 2024 and must be received by 5pm Friday 2 August 2024 (the Promotional Period). Entrants may enter multiple projects and multiple categories.
  4. The project must not be committed for publication during the period of 1 June 2024 and 31 December 2024 What constitutes publication is to be determined by Nook Publishing in its sole discretion. 
  5. By entering this award, entrants confirm and warrant that they have the necessary consents and permissions to publish the project in a mainstream publication.
  6. Entrants agree that any related publicity and/or promotional activity, including television coverage, belong to Nook Publishing Limited.
  7. Nook Publishing reserves the right to photograph, film and/or otherwise make recordings of all entries, entered projects and the judging processes, including architects, designers, and any associated parties for promotional purposes and related projects. The ensuing copyright will rest with Nook Publishing (or its contributors) without any claim to compensation from the entrant or any other featured person.
  8. Homeowners’ names and addresses relevant to submitted projects should be supplied at the time of entry but will not be published or made public.
  9. Collaborative projects should be acknowledged on the entry form by listing all parties involved. Entrants agree to seek the consent of all design parties and homeowners involved prior to submitting an entry.
  10. Neither Nook Publishing nor any other entity associated with this award will be responsible for any late, lost, misdirected, or incorrectly submitted entries, including but not limited to entries not received due to technical problems or human error. The time entries are deemed to be made will be the time the entry is received, not the time the entry is submitted by an entrant.
  11. Judging will take place in August 2024.
  12. The judges of the award will be selected by Nook Publishing in its sole discretion.
  13. All decisions made by the judges and/or Nook Publishing are final, and no correspondence will be entered into.
  14. The winners will feature in the magazine’s Oct/Nov 2024 issue.
  15. Nook Publishing collects and holds personal information provided by entrants for the purposes of this award and for future promotional purposes. All personal information provided by entrants will be held by Nook Publishing. Under the Privacy Act 1993, entrants have the right to access and request correction of any such personal information, and may do so by sending an email to