Now’s your chance to get your entry in for Home of the Year 2020

30 September 2019

Is your design a winner? Don’t miss your chance to get your entry in for Home of the Year 2020

Loading the player...

Next year marks 25 years of Home of the Year, and we’re very excited to call for entries to what has become New Zealand’s most prestigious – and lucrative – prize for residential architecture. Since 1996, the magazine has judged the country’s finest new homes – everything from expansive beach houses to brilliant little inner-city dwellings. The award is blind to budget or scale: we are looking for unique intersections between a client’s needs and an architect’s vision.

Entries close: 5pm, Monday 9 December, 2019

The award is staged in association with our long-term sponsor Altherm Window Systems. As well as our Supreme award, we’ll be judging entries in four sub-categories – Small, City, Retreat, and Multi-Unit. And for the second year running, there will also be a wildcard award, brought to you by Dulux.

The 2020 awards will be judged by the multi-award-winning Melbourne architects Rachel Nolan and Patrick Kennedy, of Kennedy Nolan, and Jack McKinney. Since starting their practice in 1999, Kennedy Nolan has become known for their thoughtful, richly detailed homes layered with subtle references and memories. And, as part of the Nightingale initiative, they’ve recently started work on a large apartment building in central Melbourne. McKinney, meanwhile, won our Home of the Year 2019 for ‘Diagrid’ house, a daring, raw design built from concrete.

Loading the player...

Related articles

Celebrating the 25th Home of the Year awards and all the past winners

Very special thanks to our sponsor Altherm Window Systems Our annual Home of the Year award is New Zealand’s most prestigious architectural prize, with a cheque of $15,000 going to the winning architects. In celebration of its 25th Anniversary, here’s a look at our previous winners,