Irving Smith Architects

Irving Smith Architects are a research-based design practice working in sensitive environments throughout New Zealand and abroad. Recent accolades include a Special Judges Prize at the 2020 Teipei International Architecture Awards, a 2019 UNESCO Award of Distinction at the Asia-Pacific Cultural Heritage Awards in Penang, World Villa of the Year at the 2017 World Architecture Festival in Berlin. ISA has received multiple NZIA New Zealand Architecture Awards in public and residential categories and twice won New Zealand’s national timber design award. Recent publications include Architecture Magazine, Architecture Record, Elle, Vogue, and GQ Magazine.

The full catalogue of work by Irving Smith Architects can be seen at



Bonita Room Alteration (9 of 13)
Bonita Room Alteration
Tahunanui House (3 of 7)
Tahunanui House
House with Villa Silhouette (9 of 9)
House with Villa Silhouette
Offset Shed House
12 Year House (8 of 9)
12 Year House
Villa to Village Alteration (3 of 12)
Villa to Village Alteration